Sway FC stun runaway league leaders Paulsgrove

Sway FC's Joe Petty
Sway FC’s Joe Petty in action against Paulsgrove

Hampshire Premier League: Sway FC 3-1 Paulsgrove


IN-FORM Sway FC sprung a surprise against Hants Premier League runaway leaders Paulsgrove at Jubilee Field on Saturday.

The visitors started the game sitting proudly at the top with an 18-point advantage over their nearest rivals, but it was Sway who finished the game as 3-1 winners with their table-topping visitors trudging off the pitch with just eight players!

Smart Sway FC play leads to opener

Sway played at a high tempo, quickly closing down the opposition and not giving them time on the ball. The first goal came as a direct result of this when Noel McCarthy-Gardiner chased after a lost cause leading to the Paulsgrove keeper’s panicked clearance smashing against his leg and rebounding into the net.

On 40 minutes Paulgrove lost the first of three players when their full back acted aggressively towards the referee and was issued with his first yellow before petulantly kicking the ball away to receive his marching orders.

Just before half-time Sway increased their lead when Ryan Brading skipped past five defenders and then calmly slotted past the keeper for an outstanding individual goal.

Sway FC profit from Paulsgrove ill-discipline

The second half saw ten-man Paulsgrove lose their discipline and constantly argue with the referee’s decisions.

Sway profited from this and increased their lead to 3-0 with another fine individual goal, this time from Roy Viner.

Paulsgrove then scored a consolation with a fine free-kick into the top corner before they were reduced to nine men when Rankin was sent off after receiving a second yellow card. Then, just before the final whistle another Paulsgrove player was given his marching orders after angrily reacting to a challenge by Jones.

W. Lambert in the heart of the Sway defence was awarded with the man of the match.

Sway: Coombs, Jones, S. Churchill, W. Lambert, M. Brading, McCarthy, Gardiner, Ritchie (c), Petty, Lopez, R. Brading, Viner. Subs: Bockhart, Boyt, Hillyar.