Super Burley hammer Sway to win Stone Cup for the third time

Stone Cup
Burley Cricket Club overcame Sway in the final held at balmer lawn in Brockenhurst

BURLEY stormed to a third Stone Cup win with a comfortable 79-run victory over Sway at Brockenhurst’s Balmer Lawn ground.


Asked to bat first Burley set about the Sway bowling with Kieron Hudson and Alex Martin scoring at over six an over. The pair put on 72 for the first wicket before Martin was caught by Adam Clark off the bowling of Noah Glass for 18.

Hudson was joined by skipper Alec Moorman and the runs continued to flow. Hudson passed his half century but was eventually dismissed by Dave Marshall, caught by Will Millard for 64.

Some strong running between the wickets by both Dan Maher (4) and James Roberts (9*) meant the Burley total reached 140, with Moorman unbeaten on 31.

The winning captain Alec Moorman is presented with the Stone Cup trophy

In reply, the Sway innings never got going. Clark was trapped LBW by Jim Burry with the first ball of the second over and then two outstanding caught and bowled dismissals by Dan Mepham completely removed the top order.

Will Millard (14) and FJ Charlton (13) were the only Sway batsmen to make double figures as Tilly Callaghan (2-8) and James Roberts (4-12) removed the remaining Sway batsmen.

Burley dismissed their opponents for just 61 to wrap up a most convincing victory with Dan Mepham (3-15) named as man of the match.

Dan Mepham’s brilliant spell of 3-15 landed him with the man of the match award