Home   Sport   Article

AFC Totton stunned by Larkhill Athletic's late winner

More news, no ads


Southern League Division One
AFC Totton 1
Larkhall Athletic FC 2

AFC TOTTON'S title hopes appeared to have evaporated after Larkhall Athletic dealt the Stags a bitter blow when they scored a last-gasp winner.

The Stags are still on course for a promotion play-off spot, but they now sit eight points off the top with a game in hand.

Sam Griffin levelled the match for the Stags in the 67th minute to cancel out mid-table Larks' opener. However, Josh Jones' 94th-minute winner secured all three points for the visitors.

AFC Totton keeper Lewis Noice looks on as the late winner goes in (photo: Craig Hobbs Photography)
AFC Totton keeper Lewis Noice looks on as the late winner goes in (photo: Craig Hobbs Photography)

The first half ended goalless with few chances after both sides lacked fluency.

The Stags started the second half well, but first blood went to Larkhill when Alex Lambert ghosted behind Robert Flooks before controlling and smashing the ball home.

The hosts appealed to the officials for a foul in the build-up but, after their protests went unheeded, they quickly went up the other end and equalised.

A delightful passing move between Hashim Kasimu and Shaquille Gwengwe led the former to unleash a left-footed strike from just outside the area. Although Larks keeper Shaun Semmens saved well, the ball spun out at Griffin who nodded in from eight yards.

With 10 minutes left, the visitors countered against the run of play, but Lambert had gone too early. After the referee signalled for offside, Lambert kicked the ball over the fence to run the clock down, leaving Martin Bloor with no option than to brandish a second yellow.

With Totton hunting a winning goal, all they found was heartbreak when Jones rose highest to head home and take all three points.

AFC Totton: L. Noice, A. Olumuyiwa, B. Jefford, A. Tomasso, H. Medway, R. Flooks, J. Adams, F. Read, H. Kasimu, E. Taylor, S. Griffin. Subs: W. Angell, B. Williams, J. Rabbetts, S. Gwengwe, C. Baughan.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More