Home   Sport   Article

Feeney strike not enough as Alton FC dump AFC Totton out of Hampshire FA Senior Invitational Cup

Hampshire FA Senior Invitational Cup quarter-final

AFC Totton 1
Alton FC 1

AFC Totton's seemingly unstoppable march through the Hampshire FA Senior Invitational Cup came to an end with a shock penalty shootout defeat to Alton FC at the Snows Stadium.

The loss to their Sydenhams Wessex Division One opponents is the Stags' first after taking the maximum 12 points from their first four matches.

AFC Totton's Craig Feeney (Photo: Les Chase)
AFC Totton's Craig Feeney (Photo: Les Chase)

Despite plying their trade two leagues below their Southern League hosts, Alton were competitive throughout. They could even have taken the lead into the break, but for some impressive saves from keeper Amadeusz Skrzyniarz.

The hosts' most promising moment of the first half came after Ethan Taylor released Sam Griffin, who had found some space between the defenders. Just as he neared shooting distance, a scything tackle brought him down 20 yards out. Jack Masterton put the resulting free kick just past the post.

AFC Totton also went close with Taylor and Ben Starr, but the best chances fell to Alton, who had multiple efforts denied by excellent saves.

Searching for a renewed impetus, AFC Totton boss Glenn Howes made four substitutions, which almost paid immediate dividends when Taylor against went close.

The hosts showed their class in the 70th minute when Craig Feeney displayed tremendous movement to ghost in at the back post before knocking in Griffin's cross.

In the 90th minute, Alton won a free-kick in a dangerous area on the left. Chris Horton held his nerve and rifled a low, fizzing shot in the far side of the net.

With the whistle imminent, a sloppy tackle in the area seemed to have gifted Alton a match-winning penalty. However, the referee waved play on, offering the hosts a reprieve.

AFC Totton's Taylor was the only player to miss as Alton won the penalty shootout 5-4, with Steve Black scoring the winner.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More