Home   Sport   Article

Gill Wright seals narrow Des Harvey Trophy

PLEASANT conditions greeted the 40 New Forest Golf Club Seniors who played for the Des Harvey Trophy, a singles strokeplay competition off the yellow tees.

It was a closely fought result with three scores of nett 63 in Division One, but the trophy went to Gill Wright, who won on countback ahead of Roy Nelson and Mike Ahearn.

Meanwhile, Colin Chatten carded the best score in Division Two with a nett 66.

Winner Tim Wells (left) and nearest-the-pin winner Steve Duckett (right) with Peter Harvey
Winner Tim Wells (left) and nearest-the-pin winner Steve Duckett (right) with Peter Harvey

Results – Division One: 1, Gill Wright; 2, Roy Nelson; 3, Mike Ahearn. Division Two: 1, Colin Chatten; 2, Berry Money; 3, Rob Young.

Later on, despite the threat of an impending storm, a strong field of 40 Seniors turned out for a Stableford competition off the yellow tees for the Mark Hooper Memorial Trophy.

The trophy is held in memory of a much-missed Seniors member, Mark Hooper, who always wanted the fun to stay in golf.

Des Harvey Trophy winner Gill Wright
Des Harvey Trophy winner Gill Wright

In addition to the main trophy, the competition also features a nearest-the-pin prize on the 129-yard 13th hole that requires players to use their putters from the tee. Steve Duckett won with a hundred-yard putt that stopped just short of the green while Division One’s Tim Wells finished with an excellent 42 points to win.

Prizes were presented by Peter Harvey, a great friend of Hooper and his family, who also arranged for everyone to enjoy an after-match meal of sausage and chips, a favourite of Hooper’s.

Results – Division One: 1, Tim Wells; 2, Phil Walker; 3, Jim Worsley; 4, Chris Kirby. Division Two: 1, Phil Kilburn; 2, Wayne Niles; 3, Jeff Hewett; 4, Ted Groves.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More