Home   Sport   Article

Forbes fires Christchurch FC clear of relegation after 3-0 win over Hythe & Dibden

More news, no ads


Wessex Premier

Hythe & Dibden FC 0
Christchurch FC 3

CHRISTCHURCH secured back-to-back wins for the first time all year to defeat Hythe & Dibden and move clear of the relegation zone.

With both sides starting the match in the bottom three, victory was crucial. However, despite Hythe's valiant efforts, Callum Brooks' side won with a slightly flattering three-goal deficit.

Hythe made a decent start to the match and appeared the most threatening side. However, they trailed after failing to deal with a loose ball from a corner. Christchurch made first contact, and the ball struck against the post before the rebound fell to Luka Chalwell to score.

Hythe's Ethan Cheshire and Christchurch's Rafael Santos (photo: Les Chase)
Hythe's Ethan Cheshire and Christchurch's Rafael Santos (photo: Les Chase)

Hythe's task grew more challenging when an incident of dissent reduced them to 10 players with a 10-minute sin bin.

New signing Brad Snelling was then involved in a bizarre incident, met with a mystery red card before the referee retracted it and issued a yellow.

Hythe continued to play with spirit and purpose, but they met a stubborn and determined Christchurch defence. With the half-time whistle incoming, keeper Miles Bartram produced a remarkable save to push a goalbound around the post.

Hythe came within a whisker of levelling after the break with a scramble that seemed destined to end in a goal. However, Christchurch hooked the ball clear.

Then hosts were left ruing their missed opportunities when the best player on the pitch, Tyler Forbes, scored two superb second-half strikes to settle the match.

Christchurch: M. Bartram, R. Santos, T. Boscott, J. Craig, H. Kemp, L, MacArthur, R. Santos, C. Speers, O. Woolley, T. Forbes, E. Batista, L. Chalwell. Subs: J. Baxter, S. Gilbert, F. Lowe.

Hythe: B. Snelling, L. Golding, A. Dunne, S. Pilsoiu, B. Lebow, R. Crookes, C. Drury, S. Boon, F. Terzidis, S. Woodward, E. Chesire. Subs: E. Juskelis, O. Walsh, C. Prentice, V. Aga-In, G. Ashby, J. Dominey.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More