Home   Sport   Article

Fee and Bullard lead Lymington Town to victory over Bideford

More news, no ads


Southern League Division One South

Lymington Town FC 2
Bideford AFC 1

LYMINGTON Town came away with maximum points after an impressive display against a battling Bideford side at the Lymington Sports Ground.

The Linnets picked up their third league win of the season under the charge of Shaun Coles and Bob Sullivan, with co-managers Dave Lewis and Paul Masters unable to attend, and the hosts started brightly with two goals in the first half, which proved enough to secure the win.

The victory extended The Robins' winless run to seven games in all competitions.

Lymington Town's Owen Fee broke the deadlock (photo: Ginu Varghese)
Lymington Town's Owen Fee broke the deadlock (photo: Ginu Varghese)

Lymington were the more prominent side during the opening exchanges, and they deservedly went in front after 23 minutes through Owen Fee.

The talented winger outpaced his opponents after Craig Stanley's long ball evaded Toby Down. The 22-year-old finished clinically with a shot past Adam Seedhouse Evans which flew into the right-hand side of the net.

Four minutes before the break, Freddie Bullard extended the lead with another fantastic individual goal. The former Brockenhurst player raced from inside his half and through the entire Bideford backline before finishing well to secure a 2-0 lead.

The Robins fought back in the second half and grabbed a goal just after the hour mark when Jack Calver's corner was headed towards the net by Craig Duff. However, the number nine could only look on as Joe Charles poached his goal by getting the last touch.

The Robins pressed for an equaliser in the final quarter of an hour as Charles released Mattie Buchan through on goal. However, Ross Casey denied him with a superb save.

Bideford were undoubtedly the better team in the second half, and they count themselves unlucky not to salvage a point as the Linnets held on.

Lymington Town: R. Casey, R. Drake, T. Bailey, N. Hurst, A. Biss, C. Stanley, O. Free, B. Satterley, C. McAllister, F. Bullard, H. McGrath. Subs: O. Dennett, S. House, T. Mann, A. Sheibatzadeh, S. Shearer.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More