Home   Sport   Article

Velocity Wessex Premier football: Brockenhurst FC suffer 2 -1 loss to Moneyfields FC

Velocity Wessex Premier

Moneyfields FC 2

Brockenhurst FC 1

Brockenhurst have played some excellent football this season, but after losing to Moneyfields on Saturday the Badgers have slipped out of the play-off places.

They have been a mainstay in the promotion hunt since storming into the play-off places in mid-September 2023, but one win in seven games has seen them fall behind their rivals.

Tom Jeffes and Ryan Pennery scored for the hosts, while Toby Bailey, son of former AFC Bournemouth player John Bailey, fired home a late penalty deep into added time.

Toby Bailey scored Brockenhurst's only goal (Photo: Les Chase)
Toby Bailey scored Brockenhurst's only goal (Photo: Les Chase)

Brockenhurst dominated the early exchanges, controlling the ball while creating chances, and they had a glorious chance to take the lead when Adam Grange rose to meet a cross. However, his header flew wide, much to the relief of keeper Dylan Kramer.

As good as Brockenhurst were at the start, the match was even for the remainder of the half, with both sides having chances, but the half ended goalless.

With the match 60 minutes old, the almost 200-hundred-strong crowd erupted with joy when the ball made its way across the box to defender Jeffes, who, while lurking at the back post, had the simple task of poking home.

Kramer had to be alert to make an excellent stop to preserve the lead before number nine Pennery doubled the lead in the 71st minute.

The Badgers never stopped looking for a way back into the game, but when they finally found a goal – thanks to a sweetly struck spot-kick from Bailey, who fired it hard and low into the keeper’s bottom left-hand corner – it was too little too late.

The Badgers play at home against AFC Stoneham on Saturday at 3pm.

Brockenhurst: A. Skrzyniarz, E. Pearce-Eavis, R. Moore, R. Drake, T. Wellman, B. Channell, T. Bailey, M. Rossi, F. Bullard, A. Grange, S. Makhloufi. Subs: H. Bunce, B. Aiako-Hall, L. Carbayo-Borges, N. McCarthy-Gardiner, J. Davis.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More