Home   Sport   Article

Hampshire Senior Cup final football: AFC Totton lose penalty shootout after a goalless draw

Hampshire Senior Cup final

AFC Portchester 0

AFC Totton 0

Portchester won 5-4 on penalties

AFC Totton suffered a massive shock at the hands of AFC Portchester, who won the Hampshire Senior Cup for the first time in the club’s 53-year history.

The Stags were held to a goalless draw before slipping to a 5-4 shootout defeat after Steven Mowthorpe saved Tony Lee’s spot-kick.

Both clubs diverted their attention to the county’s cup final after the heartbreak of promotion play-off defeats in the past weeks.

Matty Burrows had one of AFC Totton’s best chances (Photo: Craig Hobbs Photography)
Matty Burrows had one of AFC Totton’s best chances (Photo: Craig Hobbs Photography)

Portchester were knocked out in the semi-finals in the Wessex League Premier Division play-offs after a narrow 1-0 loss to Shaftesbury, whilst Totton missed the chance on promotion to the National League South after losing on penalties to Salisbury on Bank Holiday Monday.

The final, hosted at Aldershot’s home ground, was somewhat bereft of chances for most of the match, with Portchy seemingly content with forcing the tie to penalty shootouts.

For the Stags, Ethan Taylor struck a half-volley straight into the path of Mowthorpe from just inside the 18-yard box in the first half, while Matty Burrows flashed a right-footed effort over the upright from a tight angle.

Nine out of ten penalties were converted from the spot, with Lee’s unsuccessful strike the striker’s second penalty miss in as many games.

With the advantage in Portchy’s hands, Kane O’Keefe scored the decisive spot-kick to send the travelling fans into raptures, crowning the Royals as Hampshire Senior Cup champions for the first time in their history.

AFC Totton now turns their attention to the Southampton Senior Cup on Tuesday, where they face Brockenhurst at Gang Warily.

AFC Totton: J. Gould, J. Ragguette, E. Taylor, C. Kennedy, L. Hallett, S. Rendell, M. Burrows, L. Bennett, L. Maloney, T. Lee, M. McIntosh. Subs: B. Read, O. Pelham, L. Taylor, S. Lutumba, P. Iandolo

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More