New Forest teams set to feature in new 37-team Southern Premier League competition tomorrow

Wicketkeeper Patrick Lewis in action for Bashley (Rydal) CC in the Southern Premier League last season.

THE Southern Premier League has announced the format of its 37-team end-season 40-over League Cup competition, which will begin tomorrow.


The League Cup got the go-ahead when the government gave the all-clear for recreational grassroots cricket to resume following its earlier suspension due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic crisis.

It has been introduced to provide the county’s leading club sides with competitive cricket during the second half of the season. It will run for nine weeks until 12th September, with four divisions laid out on an east/west geographical basis.

Teams from the Premier Division and Division One have been split into east and west divisions, and similarly those from Divisions Two and Three.

The Premier West Division will provide some competitive derbies, with New Forest trio Bashley (Rydal), Lymington and New Milton grouped together, alongside Calmore Sports and Totton & Eling.

Lymington’s opening match is at Calmore tomorrow, while New Milton go to Southern Gardens to play Totton & Eling.

Waterside duo Hythe & Dibden and Fawley are paired up in Division Two/Three West – they meet at Jones Lane in mid- August – along with Bashley (Rydal) II, who begin at OTs & Romsey.