Home   News   Article

Bumper end-of-season prizegiving at Keyhaven Yacht Club

More news, no ads


Keyhaven Yacht Club Commodore Chris Caswell presents Nicky Jones with the Rear Commodore Sailing’s trophy
Keyhaven Yacht Club Commodore Chris Caswell presents Nicky Jones with the Rear Commodore Sailing’s trophy

KEYHAVEN Yacht Club celebrated 2019 with a bumper end-of-season prizegiving. More than 70 prizes of glassware were awarded for 16 race series and 13 club awards.

It was a good day for the Langley family. Joe Langley received one Open Class first prize in his own right. Joe then collected for his father, Rob, three other first prizes which include the big one, the Open Class overall prize, plus a bouquet for his mother, Heidi in appreciation of her support to club racing.

Jo and Richard Edwards excelled themselves, winning the spring and autumn Scow Series, and Jo also received the Watchdog Trophy for her total support to water activities at KYC.

Experienced and young sailors were equally honoured. Anne Chivers received two awards for offshore sailing in her Dufour 32, TEAL – the Klompje Trophy and Page Award. Georgie Dark received the Leeman Trophy for the Best Junior Girl, Best Youth Shield went to Rafe Bingham and Best Junior Boy to George Bence.

The father-and-son team of Mark and Sean Jardine won the Harken-sponsored Wednesday evening Scow Series. For leading the ‘Fudge fettlers’ and giving so much to the club, the revered Hugh Carter Trophy – for representing the Spirit of KYC – was awarded to Barry Fudge.

Martin Gretton received the Jack Lloyd Trophy for his efforts throughout the year to maintain the club and its structures. As he awarded his Rear Commodore’s Trophy to Nicky Jones, Cy Grisley of RC Sailing spoke of the debt owed by the club to Nicky for her initiatives particularly to develop Women on Water.

Cy thanked all volunteers for their support to over 200 races in 2019. An excellent lunchtime celebration followed. The next major event will be the Keyhaven Yacht Club Rum Race on 1 January 2020 at 1:30pm – which other club sailors are welcome.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More