Home   News   Article

Brockenhurst Under-16s win Bournemouth Cup to secure the double

More news, no ads


Brockenhurst Youth U16
Brockenhurst Youth U16

Bournemouth Cup Final

Boscombe Albion 0-3 Brockenhurst Youth

BROCKENHURST YOUTH U16s secured a fantastic double by adding the Bournemouth Cup to their league Division 1 championship.

Brockenhurst faced the tough cup final test against league runners-up Boscombe Albion.

The opening ten minutes were all Brockenhurst with chances falling to Samuel Shearer and Reece Piner however Boscombe soaked up the pressure and broke away themselves only to come up against a stubborn defence of Leo Colmer, Tom Meaton, Daniel Grace and James Nugus.

Brock didn't have to wait long to open the scoring, Nugus feeding Kieron Hall who beat his marker and fired a thunderbolt of a strike above the helpless Boscombe keeper.

Brockenhurst continued to threaten with Callum Brady, Jack Rose, Cameron Hawkins and Hall running the midfield however the score line remained 0-1 at half-time.

The second half started with a bang with Brockenhurst piling the pressure on Boscombe. Shearer caused the defence problems and Alex de Silva using his pace to great effect.

However, the second goal for Brock came when Igor Moraes cleared to Hall, who drove through the defence and won a corner. The corner was whipped in by Shearer and Brady turned the ball home to make it 0-2.

Boscombe eventually threatened but keeper Samuel Everitt made a superb double save to deny them.

Five minutes later it was Lewis Rickman's turn to get on the scoresheet when he met a cross, took a touch and fired in with his left foot from the edge of the area, 0-3.

With twenty minutes remaining Brock saw out the match comfortable and claimed the Bournemouth Cup. A fantastic season and a special achievement to win the league and cup double!

Brockenhurst U16: back row: Adam Colmer (manager), Callum Brady, Samuel Everitt, Cameron Hawkins, Alex de Silva, Kieron Hall, Leo Colmer, Igor Moraes, Reece Piner, Andy Shearer (asst manager). Front Row: James Nugus, Tom Meaton, Lewis Rickman, Daniel Grace, Samuel Shearer, Jack Rose

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More