Home   Lifestyle   Article

New Forest Orchestra set for St Thomas's Church, Lymington

More news, no ads


WAGNER’S early opera Rienzi and Dvorak’s 8th Symphony will feature in a New Forest Orchestra concert at St Thomas's Church in Lymington.

The programme on Saturday 9th July starts with the overture to the Wagner’s early opera Rienzi.

Next Siubhan O’Neill will perform the Antonio Capuzzi Double Bass Concerto which dates back to the 18th century.

The New Forest Orchestra
The New Forest Orchestra

Siubhan is a long-standing member of the New Forest Orchestra (NFO), having started on the violin in 2002 and via the viola gradually worked her way to the double bass!

In 2019 NFO started a bursary scheme to offer extra lessons to selected members, and the performance of this concerto is the result.

The music continues with Sibelius’ Finlandia which provides a historical echo to the ongoing Russian invasion of Ukraine. When composed it was seen as symbolic of the Finnish nation’s desire to free itself of the Russian rule – a goal that it achieved a few years later.

After the interval the programme concludes with Dvorak’s 8th Symphony.

NFO chair Alan Ford explained: “Dvorak brought folk elements into this composition which brims with one melody after another. Rafael Kubelik, the conductor, once said in rehearsal, 'In Bohemia, the trumpets never call one to battle – always to the dance!'”

The NFO aims to provide an opportunity for amateur instrumentalists in the New Forest to come together and rehearse orchestral music and to give concerts.

Mr Ford continued: “Many members have come back to playing after a gap and some after taking up an instrument as an adult.

"We welcome new players and our musical director, Ieuan Davis, has a wealth of experience in teaching and conducting.”

The concert will take place at St Thomas’ Church at 7.30pm on Saturday 9th July. Tickets are £10 in advance or £12 on the door with accompanied children free. Visit www.nforchestra.org

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More