Independents trounce Christchurch Tories in first ‘super council’ election

Christchurch election results
The elections was the first for the new Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council

NO party will be in overall control of the new Bournemouth, Poole and Christchurch unitary authority after the Conservatives won just 36 seats of the 76 up for grabs.


The party took a particular pounding in Christchurch where the Tories, who had supported the merger with the neighbouring councils, were almost wholly rejected by voters.

The most notable casualty was shadow authority leader Ray Nottage who was standing in the Mudeford, Stanpit and West Highcliffe.

Along with fellow merger supporter Claire Bath, he lost out to Independents Lesley Dedman and Paul Hilliard

In the Commons ward, Independents Colin Bungey and Margaret Phipps trounced Tories Vickie Hallam and Lisle Smith.

It was a similar story in Highcliffe and Walkford where Independents Nigel Brooks and Nick Geary triumphed over Tories Trish Jamieson and Colin Jamieson.

Voters in Burton and Grange elected Independents David Flagg and Simon McCormack well ahead of Tories Wendy Grace and Robert Flagg.

The only Tory councillor on the BCP from Christchurch will be Peter Hall who was elected along with Liberal Democrat Mike Cox in the Christchurch Town ward.

The overall make-up of the new authority will be Conservatives 36, Lib Dems 15, Independents 11, Poole People’s Party 7, Labour 3, Greens 2, Alliance for Local Living 1, and UKIP 1.

The total number of votes was 97,768 on an overall turn-out of 33.13%.