A NEW country pub named after the author of Goldilocks and the Three Bears is opening in Burton this spring.
The Bear of Burton is on the site of what was formerly known as The Manor. It has been renamed as a tribute to Robert Southey, author of the famous children’s fairytale who lived in Burton between 1799 and 1805.
His children’s tale was written at Burton Cottage. First published in 1837, it was originally called The Story of the Three Bears in a book of short tales called The Doctor.
Fuller’s has undertaken a full refurbishment of The Manor costing around £2m to turn it into a pub with a ‘country feel’ which will also boast 10 bedrooms.
The pub will offer food freshly cooked and locally sourced. The menu will change to reflect the seasons and will be prepared from scratch by a team of chefs,
There will be a fixed-price lunch menu, afternoon tea and private dining rooms for hire which can hold up to 26 people.
A special wine system called Coravin will mean customers will be able to sample fine wines by the glass that they may not have been able to afford by the bottle. The innovative system uses a hollow needle to penetrate the cork without removing it. This means wine in the bottle is not exposed to the air so oxidation does not occur meaning it can be kept for much longer than usual.
An impressive terrace at the pub will open views of the countryside.
The bedrooms will be named after local woods, with touches culled from the pages of Goldilocks and the Three Bears.
A 1,600-pocket sprung mattress will ensure guests enjoy a good night’s sleep, while a Nespresso coffee machine and Roberts radio will give them an enjoyable wake-up call.
The pub is set to open in March.